This page is optimized for Internet Explorer 8 or higher. For optimal viewing upgrade your browser or change the Compatibility view setting. Thanks.


Platform on Research and Innovation policies and systems





After  10 years of operation, ERAWATCH is being phased out and will no longer be on line from the end of 2015.  

A successor service, the Research and Innovation Observatory (RIO)/Horizon 2020 Policy Support Facility, has been launched by the European Commission (JRC-IPTS) which builds on and updates much of the information and analysis hitherto provided by ERAWATCH.  

ERAWATCH Country reports are also available in the respective RIO Country pages.


ERAWATCH provides information on European, national and regional research and innovation systems, policies, and programmes in the EU and beyond.  It supports evidence based policy making in Europe and contributes to the realisation of the European Research Area (ERA).

ERAWATCH covers 61 countries: the 28 Member States of the European Union, 13 countries associated with the 7th European Community's Research Framework Programme and 20 third countries. It also provides an overview of the European Union.

ERAWATCH information has been collected and presented by JRC-IPTS with the support of external experts.  Since 2013 ERAWATCH content updates have been focused primarily on Annual Country Reports (ACR), Country Fiches and other relevant analytical reports


Cip logo
Cip logo

Select Country:

EU and Member States:
  • eu
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
Associated Countries:
  • Albania
  • Bosnia
  • Faeroe Islands
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Liechtenstein
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Serbia
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
Third Countries:
  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rep. of korea
  • Russian Federation
  • South Africa
  • Tunisia
  • Ukraine
  • United States


The Government of the Slovak...
Slovakia 16/01/2015
The Government of the Slovak Republic established post of Plenipotentiary for Research and...
The Slovak Parliament passed the...
Slovakia 16/01/2015
The Slovak Parliament passed the State Budget Law for 2014 on 4 December 2015....
2013 EW Country Reports available...
EU 01/10/2014
The main aims of the 2013 edition of the ERAWATCH Analytical Country Reports are to characterise...

Version: 2.3.0